"Synchronize" command in Project context menu

Hi everyone, I have 3 questions:

 

1. What is the "Synchronize" + <filename> command in the Project context menu?

2. Why is it active when it apparently does nothing - why is there no feedback when I interact with it?

3. Is it possible to find the answer to question 1. in the help or any other online documentation? I have tried to search like this, what am I doing wrong? https://www.jetbrains.com/help/webstorm/2016.3/meet-webstorm.html?search=synchronize

1 comment

Hi there,

>What is the "Synchronize" + <filename> command in the Project context menu?

"File | Synchronize" (in general) re-reads actual file system and checks for any file modifications (new/modified/deleted files and folders) that were made outside of IDE that IDE was not able to pickup/detect automatically (e.g. situations when file system watcher cannot run at all or not effective enough -- on symlinked folders (some OS), network shares etc).

This command synchronizes OS file system with internal Virtual File System -- the one that actually displays (after applying possible filters/scopes etc) info in Project View panel.

 

>Why is it active when it apparently does nothing - why is there no feedback when I interact with it?

This action does not produce any dialog windows or stuff like that. All found changes get submitted into internal structures (VFS, actual Editor buffer (if file is currently opened) etc) and they act accordingly (e.g. Project View will display new files in project tree; file gets closed if it was deleted from FS but was opened in IDE etc).

In your case it possibly found no changes ... or changes were applied automatically (e.g. Editor loaded latest version from the file automatically)

 

>Is it possible to find the answer to question 1. in the help or any other online documentation?

0

Please sign in to leave a comment.