How to set up git merge options in "Close task" popup

When I close my task, I'd like to merge newly created task's branch to original branch. I check "merge" option.

After merge my new branch was deleted, but I'd like to avoid that. I can click to 'restore' that branch from Storm's log, but it would be better not to remove my branch. What's more I'd like to use 'no fast forward' in my merges. Is there a way to set up somewhere that behaviours?

I couldn't find any option in VCS -> git settings.

5 comments
Avatar
Vladimir Luchansky
Comment actions Permalink

Hello,

What would be the point of this? When you create a task, new branch is created, when you close it - branch is removed (only ref, commits are still there).

0
Comment actions Permalink

This aproach is correct only for feature branches. However we are using Vincent Driessen's git workflow (http://nvie.com/posts/a-successful-git-branching-model/)

 

There are develop, release and master branches (it can be more as we have got 4 branches). I create a task with new feature branch from develop. Suddenly some serious bug appears on production. I create another task with new hotfix branch from master. I create some commits and I'm ready to close task, merge branch to master and I need to merge that hotfix branch also to develop (sometimes maybe to release branch, too).

This is why I need to keep my hotfix branch after closing my task and delete it after all merges.

1
Comment actions Permalink

Fully agree with @sabat24, the lack of ability to set 'no fast forward' option for merge made the 'close active task' action useless.

0
Comment actions Permalink

I think it's worth a feature request. Could you please submit one? https://youtrack.jetbrains.com/newIssue?project=IDEA
This one looks related, so please add it as 'Relates to`. Thank you!
https://youtrack.jetbrains.com/issue/IDEA-123920

0
Comment actions Permalink

@Sokolyaka if you want to use a temporary workaround you can set some configuration options in your local git

git config merge.ff false
git config pull.ff only

It will force git to use no fast forward for each merge you made (even from console) except merges when pulling from remote. It works fine unless you need to use ff merge in some cases.

This is also another issue: https://youtrack.jetbrains.com/issue/IDEA-140546

 

1

Please sign in to leave a comment.