Why are files automatically saved when running or exiting?

Answered

Unless I've missed something PC automatically saves files without prompting me for confirmation.

On my home machine I don't have a source control system and I don't need one. Hence, I don't have previous versions of edited files I can roll back to. In every other software product I've ever used, when I exit I'm prompted if I want to save any uncommitted changes. Why doesn't PC do that as well? For example I made some changes I didn't want to keep but PC saved them regardless.

I'll have to work the problem by making a copy of the files first but I shouldn't need to. Is there a configuration setting that lets me decide what to save and what not? I lost a bit of time this afternoon trying to recover original code.

I'm getting a bald spot behind my ear trying to work out why automatic saving rides roughshod over what should be my decision. LOL.

Seriously, why is it?

3 comments

Here are the help docs about that feature, including how to turn it off.

One thing to point out: PyCharm has a built-in history mechanism called "Local History" which makes it easy to go back in time, even if you aren't using a VCS. It works transparently along editor-transaction boundaries.

0

Paul, thanks for the heads-up on the local history malarkey. I'll read up about it.

0

Paul: that local history works a-okay. Adding a label could be very useful to me and reverting back to any previous version of a file was fine. Because I don't use a VCS at home searching the VCS menu for the local history would have been the last place I'd have looked. Like they say, if it was a snake it would have bitten me. LOL...

0

Please sign in to leave a comment.