Auto save and file marked "dirty"

Seems pycharm has a mind of its own.

I turned off the autosave and auto-syncing features.

When I want to save a file, I'll save it, thanks.

But, if I quit the application and a file is "dirty"  (e.g., it has an unsaved change) you MUST prompt that there are unsaved changes.

This is pretty much how every editor ever written works.  Why did pycharm decide to not warn on unsaved changes?  What kind of workflow is that?  

Very novel and very wrong.
2 comments
Comment actions Permalink
http://youtrack.jetbrains.com/issue/IDEABKL-6460

You can find explanations/official comments there.
0
Comment actions Permalink
Read the thread. I understand why auto save is often attractive.  Have no issue with Autosave.  Obviously, when Autosave is on the condition of an unsaved change can't occur.

my point addresses the case when Autosave is off.  It doesn't seem that a warning on close with unsaved changes blocks the effects of make/build processes or other external tools (vcs) that rely on operating on the latest version.  Folks relying on those tools will use the default config. of Autosave.

I think you may be missing or denying that there is a logical conjunction of feature choices here:
  • Autosave requires no save prompt
  • if you allow autosave to be turned off (which you do) then it is only logically consistent to prompt on unsaved changes.  the two go together.  if you refuse to do the prompt then you should not allow suppression of Autosave.  I think that would be a mistake, but you'd have a product that fulfills the philosophy you've chosen without (ever) the bad side effect of unsaved changes.  People can choose to use your products or not–as the senior poster in that thread points out.

I was trying the product from Spyder, which I like very much, but is suffering with QT being broken on Mavericks.  There are a bunch of UI elements that are unsatisfying in Pycharm, while it's IDE features work well.

Thanks for responding.

- Lewis

On Jan 3, 2014, at 6:15 AM, "Andriy Bazanov - PyCharm" <jetforum@jetbrains.com<mailto:jetforum@jetbrains.com>> wrote:


PyCharm<http://forum.jetbrains.com/forum/PyCharm> > Auto save and file marked "dirty"<http://forum.jetbrains.com/thread/PyCharm-1895> 9:14 am<http://forum.jetbrains.com/thread/PyCharm-1895?message=PyCharm-1895-1> Andriy Bazanov<http://forum.jetbrains.com/user/Bazzik>

http://youtrack.jetbrains.com/issue/IDEABKL-6460

You can find explanations/official comments there.

Lewis<http://forum.jetbrains.com/user/Lewis> @ Jan 02<http://forum.jetbrains.com/thread/PyCharm-1895>

Seems pycharm has a mind of its own.

I turned off the autosave and auto-syncing features.

When I want to save a file, I'll save it, thanks.

But, if I quit the application and a file is "dirty" (e.g., it has an unsaved change) you MUST prompt that there are unsaved changes.

This is pretty much how every editor ever written works. Why did pycharm decide to not warn on unsaved changes? What kind of workflow is that?

Very novel and very wrong.

JetBrains Forum | Build #173 (Sep/19/2013 4:50PM) | Feedback<http://confluence.jetbrains.net/display/JETF/Feedback>
0

Please sign in to leave a comment.