Delete Option In Merge

If I compare two files that look something like this:
File1

Line1
Line2
Line3


File2

Line1
Line2
Line3
Line4


The only merge option I get is to move Line4 from File2 to File1.
Shouldn't there be an option to delete Line4 from File2?

4 comments
Comment actions Permalink

As I understand it, with a merge, you should get three panels - the changed local version, the merged result, and the changed server version. If you don't want a changed section from either of the changed versions in the merged result, you don't copy it over.

With a comparison, you get two panes, one with the editable local version and one with the comparison version, which is read-only. You can only update the local version from the comparison version, not vice-versa.

0
Comment actions Permalink

Thats true.
However, I wasn't explicit in what I meant by comparing two files.
I am selecting two local source files and comparing them via View - Compare Two Files.

In this case, both are editable so a delete line option should really be available.

Incidentally, try selecting 2 files in the Project Panel and see if you can right-click Compare 2 files.
I always end up with the multiple selection being lost as soon as I right-click
EDIT: This last paragraph relates to http://www.jetbrains.net/devnet/message/5255504

0
Comment actions Permalink

Oh, OK, I see what you mean. You'll find that if you right-click on the selection (Line 4 in your example), you get the option to remove it in the context-menu. Perhaps you don't see that option in the gutter because it would be too easy to delete it when trying to copy it across...(?)

BTW - I can right-click on multiple selected files in the Project panel and get a context-menu without losing the selection...

0

Please sign in to leave a comment.