What are the various types that I can mark a directory as?

When I'm working with my Project Structure (via the dialog or the context menu), I can mark a directory as:

  • Sources Root
  • Test Sources Root
  • Resources Root
  • Test Resources Root
  • Excluded
  • Load Path Root
  • Generated Sources Root

Can anyone explain what impact each of these choices have on things like indexing, visibilty and anything else I might be interested in?

Comment actions Permalink

Take a look at Help > Help Topics > IntelliJ IDEA > Basic Concepts > Module > Content Root (also available on the web). It has a good explanation. If you still have questions, let us know with a follow-up.

Comment actions Permalink

I've taken a look at the Help Topics on Content Root, to get a better idea of the different types available. 

Specifically, I'd like to know more about Load Path Root. 


Please sign in to leave a comment.