Anyone notice CVS updates lose local changes, when conflicts are detected?

We've started to see cases where local changes are lost during CVS updates. I'm using 7.0.2 (7590).

I noticed a file which had local changes. Idea brought up the conflict resolution dialog. I clicked the Merge button. A dialog flashed saying it was reading stuff from the CVS server, but the merge tool never appeared. I kept clicking on the Merge button, and each time the CVS server connection dialog would pop up for a second, then nothing.

So I clicked Cancel to close the conflict resolution dialog, then opened the file in the editor. All my local changes were gone, and the changes from the latest repository version were not there either. It's like IDEA reverted to the common base version for the local and repository changes, as if I had opened the Merge tool and clicked Save without actually merging any changes into the center panel.

Also, my local history for that file didn't show any revisions before the current one, so my local changes weren't archived there either.

I ended up being able to recover them from the .# conflict file created on update, thankfully.

Will create a ticket, just wanted to know if anyone else had seen this.

Does anyone else miss the days before the Merge tool? I still find it far harder to use than CVS' good old embedded markers.

1 comment

I have also noticed that local changes seem to get overwritten by merges in
Perforce. Not sure if it's the same issue. I haven't been able to recreate
it (it's kind of a hard issue to recreate), but I've been able to recover it
from local history when I've noticed it.

Anyone else see this?

;ted

"Russell Egan" <no_reply@jetbrains.com> wrote in message
news:7236946.1199292927638.JavaMail.itn@is.intellij.net...

We've started to see cases where local changes are lost during CVS
updates. I'm using 7.0.2 (7590).

>

I noticed a file which had local changes. Idea brought up the conflict
resolution dialog. I clicked the Merge button. A dialog flashed saying
it was reading stuff from the CVS server, but the merge tool never
appeared. I kept clicking on the Merge button, and each time the CVS
server connection dialog would pop up for a second, then nothing.

>

So I clicked Cancel to close the conflict resolution dialog, then opened
the file in the editor. All my local changes were gone, and the changes
from the latest repository version were not there either. It's like IDEA
reverted to the common base version for the local and repository changes,
as if I had opened the Merge tool and clicked Save without actually
merging any changes into the center panel.

>

Also, my local history for that file didn't show any revisions before the
current one, so my local changes weren't archived there either.

>

I ended up being able to recover them from the .# conflict file created on
update, thankfully.

>

Will create a ticket, just wanted to know if anyone else had seen this.

>

Does anyone else miss the days before the Merge tool? I still find it far
harder to use than CVS' good old embedded markers.



0

Please sign in to leave a comment.