vcs update feature suggestion

what about an option that updates all files while keeping their current branch? in my case, i have some files on a branch and some on the main trunk and ALWAYS, without exception, accidently merge the branch files with the main trunk files and have to revert everything using the local history.

3 comments

Try updating using the "default" option selected in the "Use version" section of the dialog. That should update each file using the branch that it is currently sticky-tagged with. Also make sure that you have "Don't merge" selected.

0

when i do that, i get the main trunk version instead of the current branches head version
...
what exactly does "reset sticky data" do?

0

"Reset sticky data" will remove the branch tag from your working copy files. That's why you get the main trunk version.

When you update your working copy to a specific branch, the working copy files are marked with the branch name. It's known as a sticky tag because it remains until you explicitly reset sticky data or use a different branch in the next update.

0

Please sign in to leave a comment.