Make before run does not work.

Something happened to my project. It used to build all the changed dependencies before a run/debug, now it does not. My run dialog has the "Make" option checked (although its disabled) in the "Before launch" section.

I tried clearing the dependency cache and that did not make a difference.

Besides creating an new project, is there some technique or trick or to reset the project to ensure it builds before running again?

3 comments
Comment actions Permalink

Hello Jonathan,

Something happened to my project. It used to build all the changed
dependencies before a run/debug, now it does not. My run dialog has
the "Make" option checked (although its disabled) in the "Before
launch" section.

I tried clearing the dependency cache and that did not make a
difference.

Besides creating an new project, is there some technique or trick or
to reset the project to ensure it builds before running again?


Edit Run Configurations | Enable "before launching" steps (bottom left
corner)?

--
Dmitry Jemerov
Software Developer
JetBrains, Inc.
http://www.jetbrains.com/
"Develop with Pleasure!"


0
Comment actions Permalink

>> Enable "before launching" steps

That's what it was! Wow, is that confusing.

I see little need for this checkbox and its confusing. It should be checked by default. It should say "Enable 'Before launch" options." to match the group. Even if it not checked, the Before Launch "Make" was checked so I thought the Make option was true. It was not obvious to me what "Enable 'before launching' steps" meant.

Why would one even wants to disable the "Before launch" options? Its confusing to have a global checkbox disabled other checkboxes and disabled yet checked checkboxes.

0
Comment actions Permalink


Jonathan Johnson wrote:
>>> Enable "before launching" steps


That's what it was! Wow, is that confusing.

I see little need for this checkbox and its confusing. It should be checked by default. It should say "Enable 'Before launch" options." to match the group. Even if it not checked, the Before Launch "Make" was checked so I thought the Make option was true. It was not obvious to me what "Enable 'before launching' steps" meant.

Why would one even wants to disable the "Before launch" options? Its confusing to have a global checkbox disabled other checkboxes and disabled yet checked checkboxes.


What to do with the components in a logical group when the group is
switched off is a usability question that software developers ask
themselves often and which has no single answer :) The nice thing about
keeping the in-group options as they were before disabling the group is
that the user does not loose the group options if, for example, disables
the group by accident, or if it makes sense for the user to re-enable
the group later and wants to have the group options memorized by the
program.
IDEA guys - didn't you use somewhere the approach to hide (set to
invisible) the options of a group when the group is set to disabled?
That way probably users like Jonathan would not see anything that may
confuse them? Just and IDEA.

Greetings!

0

Please sign in to leave a comment.