Deleted projects remain in the Welcome screen "Recent Projects" list

I'm using IntelliJ v12 on Windows 7 Home Premium Service Pack 1 and have noticed that when a project gets deleted it still appears on IntelliJ's Welcome screen in the 'Recent Projects' listing.
Clicking on it produces an error that the project can't be found.

I'm still learning IntelliJ and I'm just wondering if this is a bug or am I deleting projects the wrong way?
I've deleted projects both manually and through IntelliJ's interface but the projects are still showing up in the Welcome screen on startup.

3 comments
Comment actions Permalink

Hi there,

How did you delete the project through IntelliJ's interface exactly?

To remove project from that list -- select it and press "Delete" key.

0
Comment actions Permalink

Hey Andriy,

Well I deleted projects a couple of different ways to test it. Example: I delete a project from intellij's ui: File>open, then browse through the folder for projects and instead of opening a project I select it and hit the 'delete' button in the ui, the project still shows up in the start screen for recent projects, but it won't open anymore because it's now deleted. I thought the recent projects list would only contain projects that actually existed like intellij would keep track of that sort of thing if done through the ui.
Also what you suggested worked for deleting a project from the history list except I didn't really select it, I just scrolled over it so it was highlighted and then hit the delete key. Is that what you meant by selecting it?
Thanks for the responding!

0
Comment actions Permalink

Hi Anthony,

Is that what you meant by selecting it?

Yes -- you hover cursor over project name .. and it becomes highlighted/selected. You have to keep in mind that you can also use keyboard:
1) up/down keys -- to navigate in that list
2) letters -- to quick filter (search by name) .. and then up/down

I thought the recent projects list would only contain projects that actually existed like intellij would keep track of that sort of thing if done through the ui.

Imagine situation: the drive where project is located is currently unavailable (be it fast network drive .. or just encrypted local drive/partition). With your idea such recent project would be automatically removed from the list if user forgot to connect that drive/partition before launching an IDE -- rather unexpected behaviour I'd say.

If there would be some button "Remove not existing/not accessible projects" then it would be just perfect (as you use it when you need it), but automatic deletion/cleanup -- not really.

0

Please sign in to leave a comment.