IDEA Ultimate and Community share cache?

Hello,
I had separate installs of IDEA 11.1 Ultimate and Community Edition - the first one to do my work work, the other one to try and do plugin development. after months of only doing work work, i decided to uninstall Community (among other things) to get back some disk space - found out that it actually wiped out my Ultimate cache.
is there a reason that both of them use the same cache?
Thanks,
Nilesh

5 comments
Comment actions Permalink

Normally they don't. Which OS are you using?

0
Comment actions Permalink

If you run IntelliJ IDEA via idea.exe and haven't customized anything in idea.properties, IntelliJ IDEA Ultimate stores its caches under %USERPROFILE%\.IntelliJIdea11, whereas IntelliJ IDEA Community Edition uses %USERPROFILE%\.IdeaIC11

0
Comment actions Permalink

that's what i thought, which is why i confidently told it to delete caches - i just checked my cache locations, and noticed that my .IdeaIC11 folder is intact :) whereas my .IntelliJIdea11 folder was wiped out. i'm pretty sure that I didn't make any changes to the idea.properties, because the caches are indeed different. and i'm also certain that i chose the Community Edition to be uninstalled, because it's gone, and my Ultimate edition is still intact. wonder if there's some other coupling that causes the wrong cache to be wiped out - like and ENV variable that's common?

0
Comment actions Permalink

Thanks a lot. I've reproduced the problem and created http://youtrack.jetbrains.com/issue/IDEA-85545

Alexander.

0

Please sign in to leave a comment.