When you cvs update with "merge with branch" (-j), if there's a
conflict, in idea 4.5 there was a bug : the visual merge didn't work, it
showed the same revision on the left and right of the screen, so you
couldn't resolve anything.
This is this bug: http://www.jetbrains.net/jira/browse/IDEADEV-1541
It has been marked as fixed but what happens now is: when there's a
conflict, Idea asks you what revisions you want to merge.
=> Why ? I already said what revisions I want to merge when I updated.
And they are already merged, but with conflicts, now I want to solve
them. I don't think this dialog is needed.
Now if I choose the revisions on that dialog, the visual diff opens but
I don't understand what is shown. On the left you have "Local changes",
on the right you have "Last Version". What is "Last Version"? the last
version on the branch or on HEAD? What is Local Changes? I didn't change
anything locally. Plus there are lots of lines shown as changed (in
blue) between "Merge Result" and "Last Version", but they are exactly
the same. (Maybe they have spaces differences, but where is the ignore
spaces option anyway?)
And also, when I press Apply, nothing is applied. The visual merge
window closes but the file was not changed!
What I'm expecting to see is : when you have a file with cvs's
"<<<<<<<", "=======", etc. markers, if you chooses cvs/merge, directly
open the visual diff with on the left: Revision x.x.x.x (branch), on the
right Revision y.y (HEAD), and the merge result on the middle.
Is this approach the right one or am I missing something?