How to automatically show configurations before run/debug in 9.0?

Hi,

After upgrading to 9.0, the run configuration dialog is not shown anymore before running or debugging. I have to change application arguments all the time, so this setting is very useful for me. I know this was not enabled by default in 8.x and earlier. But I cannot find the corresponding check box anymore. Anybody knows how I can turn this on again?

Ingo

8 comments
Comment actions Permalink

Hello Ingo,

After upgrading to 9.0, the run configuration dialog is not shown
anymore before running or debugging. I have to change application
arguments all the time, so this setting is very useful for me. I know
this was not enabled by default in 8.x and earlier. But I cannot find
the corresponding check box anymore. Anybody knows how I can turn this
on again?


The checkbox has been removed. To edit the configuration settings before
running, press the Run... or Debug... key (Alt-Shift-F9/Alt-Shift-F10) and
press F4 on the selected configuration.

--
Dmitry Jemerov
Development Lead
JetBrains, Inc.
http://www.jetbrains.com/
"Develop with Pleasure!"


0
Comment actions Permalink

Hi Dmitry,

Thank you. This aspect is not quite as practical for me as before, but I do like the new run/debug popup. I have submitted http://youtrack.jetbrains.net/issue/IDEA-26725 which would make my life even easier than it was before :-)

Ingo

0
Comment actions Permalink

This is a horrible change. 99% of the time I want the dialog to pop up. That will be annoying to have to hit F4.

What was wrong with the checkbox?

0
Comment actions Permalink

Hello Michael,

This is a horrible change. 99% of the time I want the dialog to pop
up.


Really? Why?

--
Dmitry Jemerov
Development Lead
JetBrains, Inc.
http://www.jetbrains.com/
"Develop with Pleasure!"


0
Comment actions Permalink

Well I am not sure...I guess I am so used to the dialog pop up. :-) Let me see how often I actually make changes in that dialog and reevaluate my opionion:-)

0
Comment actions Permalink

For a start, we are used to working in a certain way - we actually selected that behaviour by checking a box, changing it is essentially the same a remapping keys for no good reason.

What was the reason for the removal?

0
Comment actions Permalink

spmurphy wrote:

For a start, we are used to working in a certain way - we actually selected that behaviour by checking a box, changing it is essentially the same a remapping keys for no good reason.

What was the reason for the removal?

Agreed, -1 to arbitrary changes that aren't really needed.

0
Comment actions Permalink

Immanuel wrote:

spmurphy wrote:

For a start, we are used to working in a certain way - we actually selected that behaviour by checking a box, changing it is essentially the same a remapping keys for no good reason.

What was the reason for the removal?

Agreed, -1 to arbitrary changes that aren't really needed.

If not for other reasons, because I've lost 10 minutes of my life trying to understand why the dialog was not showing, remember where the setting was to reactivate it, etc.

0

Please sign in to leave a comment.