"Commit Changes" dialog - major pain with "Tag committed files"

Hi, am I the only person that used the functionality "Tag committed files" + "Override existing tags" once and then happily updated and committed other files, without noticing that these checkboxes are still active?
At the end I just updated 20 files in CVS HEAD and kept overwriting history tags - something that definitely should not happen.

Does the suggestion to always reset (not persist) these checkboxes seem reasonable? Currently you can overwrite existing tags by accident and you will not be able to fix it. It the functionality is removed, the worst case is that you will have to put a tag on the files after the commit.

If the above mentioned change is too much, then I would like to report UI inconsistency in this dialog:
You can change the Comment, press "Cancel" and your comment will still be remembered. I would expect the same behavior with these "tagging" checkboxes. Unfortunately when they are checked and you uncheck, press "Cancel", go back - they are still on!

Best regards,
Adam

Edited by: Adam on Jul 8, 2008 2:15 PM

2 comments
Comment actions Permalink

I agree, I've been caught out by this ones several times and it's always
a time consuming task to clean up the mess. Having the checkboxes always
default to unchecked would be great. Not sure if there's a JIRA issue or
not for this one but if you find (or create) one I'll happily vote for it.

Chris

Hi, am I the only person that used the functionality "Tag committed
files" + "Override existing tags" once and then happily updated and
committed other files, without noticing that these checkboxes are
still active? At the end I just updated 20 files in CVS HEAD and kept
overwriting history tags - something that definitely should not
happen.

Does the suggestion to always reset (not persist) these checkboxes
seem reasonable? Currently you can overwrite existing tags by accident
and you will not be able to fix it. It the functionality is removed,
the worst case is that you will have to put a tag on the files after
the commit.

If the above mentioned change is too much, then I would like to report
UI inconsistency in this dialog:

You can change the Comment, press "Cancel" and your comment will still
be remembered. I would expect the same behavior with these "tagging"
checkboxes. Unfortunately when they are checked and you uncheck, press
"Cancel", go back - they are still on!

Best regards,
Adam



0
Comment actions Permalink

Hi Chris,

Not many voices here in the forums, but also no one objected, so I'd say "silence means agreement" :)

I have created the Jira entry: http://www.jetbrains.net/jira/browse/IDEA-18738

0

Please sign in to leave a comment.