2.6 forgotten feature or a bug?

Hi,

I'm using a lot of automatically generated files and I've
noticed a very annoying difference in ways how old IDEA 2.6
and the new one behaves.
If I have an editor window/tab for a file which was modified
outside IDEA, then

IDEA 2.6:
would not reload non-modified-in-editor file automatically and would not
annoy me with immediate pop-up for every file which was modified
in the editor (I can have ten of such files open and I would hate to click
"reload" ten times). But! when I actually activate the editor frame showing
my intention to modify or just inspect the file, IDEA would silently reload
the file if it was not modified or ask me if I wish to reload if it was
modified.
Such a behavior is totally reasonable and convenient.

IDEA 3.0 (all builds)
would NOT reload or ask to reload any modified files. If I hit
"synchronize"
button it would silently reload even modified files which is a BAD idea
since
I will loose my changes if any.

So the question is: Is it an intended behavior or a bug?

Thanks, Oleg


2 comments
Comment actions Permalink

It's not an intended behaviour. Moreover, we cannot reproduce it. Please
provide more detailed steps to reproduce it (which file to modify
internally/externally, in which order, your settings etc).
Does anyone else experience the same problem?

P.S. Prefereable way to post such issues is Tracker cause it's easier to
track bugs there.

--
Valentin Kipiatkov
JetBrains, Inc
http://www.intellij.com
"Develop with pleasure!"

"Oleg Danilov" <o_danilov@yahoo.com> wrote in message
news:at31gc$rm4$1@is.intellij.net...

Hi,

>

I'm using a lot of automatically generated files and I've
noticed a very annoying difference in ways how old IDEA 2.6
and the new one behaves.
If I have an editor window/tab for a file which was modified
outside IDEA, then

>

IDEA 2.6:
would not reload non-modified-in-editor file automatically and would

not

annoy me with immediate pop-up for every file which was modified
in the editor (I can have ten of such files open and I would hate to click
"reload" ten times). But! when I actually activate the editor frame

showing

my intention to modify or just inspect the file, IDEA would silently

reload

the file if it was not modified or ask me if I wish to reload if it was
modified.
Such a behavior is totally reasonable and convenient.

>

IDEA 3.0 (all builds)
would NOT reload or ask to reload any modified files. If I hit
"synchronize"
button it would silently reload even modified files which is a BAD idea
since
I will loose my changes if any.

>

So the question is: Is it an intended behavior or a bug?

>

Thanks, Oleg

>
>


0
Comment actions Permalink

1. OK, here is what I'm doing:
My persistent layer uses XML based object model definition to generate
a correspondent java file for every business object and a big SQL script
with tables, triggers etc. I'm adding a yet another DB support (i.e. set
of
templates to generate all this stuff) and, of course, I'm checking that
generated files are correct.

2. Now, here is the sequence of actions:
2.1. I have generated SQL opened but not current in my editor
2.2. I make modifications to the template and run schema compiler.
2.3. I click on the tab with my SQL script and see staled version of the
file.
Click anywhere in the file does not update anything and I can easily
override new version with the old one just by saving it. No question
asked.
2.4. Click on synchronize will reload the file in the editor window.

I guess that since there is no frame activation/deactivation (all
modifications
are done by the application running from within IDEA) the check just don't
get
executed at all. The absence of a question is in fact related to default
"AutoSave files if application is inactive = 15 sec" setting. Let's suppose
I start my schema compiler which takes certainly more than 15 sec to
execute (I'm generating a few MB of sources!) and modify the file.
Then, after 15 sec (my compiler is still running !) a half-generated file
gets overridden
with my old modified version and gets assigned "saved" status in IDEA
with all above
consequences. Depending on the method of script generation (multiple appends
to existing file or writing the whole file at once at the end of generation)
I can have
different results. Nice!
If I set autosave to 300 sec (i.e. longer than my app runs) then when I hit
synchronize
I'll be asked if I wish to reload the file from disk..

So in order to get it correctly you have to keep timestamp of the last
modification in the editor and compare it with the last modification time
on the disk, I guess. Then you can tell if you have a newer (or older but
different!) version on disk.

I hope it helps. Oleg

"Valentin Kipiatkov" <valentin@intellij.com> wrote in message
news:at4djr$n5o$1@is.intellij.net...

It's not an intended behaviour. Moreover, we cannot reproduce it. Please
provide more detailed steps to reproduce it (which file to modify
internally/externally, in which order, your settings etc).
Does anyone else experience the same problem?

>

P.S. Prefereable way to post such issues is Tracker cause it's easier to
track bugs there.

>

--
Valentin Kipiatkov
JetBrains, Inc
http://www.intellij.com
"Develop with pleasure!"

>

"Oleg Danilov" <o_danilov@yahoo.com> wrote in message
news:at31gc$rm4$1@is.intellij.net...

Hi,

>

I'm using a lot of automatically generated files and I've
noticed a very annoying difference in ways how old IDEA 2.6
and the new one behaves.
If I have an editor window/tab for a file which was modified
outside IDEA, then

>

IDEA 2.6:
would not reload non-modified-in-editor file automatically and would

not

annoy me with immediate pop-up for every file which was modified
in the editor (I can have ten of such files open and I would hate to

click

"reload" ten times). But! when I actually activate the editor frame

showing

my intention to modify or just inspect the file, IDEA would silently

reload

the file if it was not modified or ask me if I wish to reload if it was
modified.
Such a behavior is totally reasonable and convenient.

>

IDEA 3.0 (all builds)
would NOT reload or ask to reload any modified files. If I hit
"synchronize"
button it would silently reload even modified files which is a BAD idea
since
I will loose my changes if any.

>

So the question is: Is it an intended behavior or a bug?

>

Thanks, Oleg

>
>

>
>


0

Please sign in to leave a comment.