PhpStorm 8 is completely ignoring "save files on frame deactivation" set 'OFF' !!!

What is pain in the ass as I work on local server (a test server) and only commit major changes to Git.
This is really stupid I cannot explicitely "save" a document but all (even incidental erratic) changes are auto-saved while I close document tab.

Any idea how to get rid if this nasty "feature" ???

8 comments
Comment actions Permalink
This is really stupid I cannot explicitely "save" a document but all...

You can.

Just find "Save Document" action in "Settings | Keymap" and assign custom shortcut to it: IDEA-98513

...all (even incidental erratic) changes are auto-saved while I close document tab

Do not close document tab then (because IDE will never show you "save or not" confirmation dialog for it: IDEABKL-6460) ... or do not make these erratic changes (a.k.a. messing around) in working document (or undo them before saving). You may also use Local History to rollback your recent accidental changes or what not.

The auto-save is built deeply into IDE and cannot be turned off completely. Auto-save can happen at multiple stages: e.g. making changes in Settings, running command in Terminal, executing/debugging script etc.

P.S.
Yes -- every person is different and it will take different time to get used to such auto-save feature/workflow and overcome your habits. For me it was hard to get used to it first few weeks, but after using it for around 2 months it felt completely natural in all aspects (at least in the areas where I'm using this IDE -- I'm not messing around in working files any more).

0
Comment actions Permalink

Thank you for this prompt feedback, but is this behavior (not showing "save file" dialog) restricted to working with version control system or this is something new with PHPStrom v.8?

I ask because I had never such an issue with PHPStorm v.7 but indeed - these days I never used version control system like GIT. The "save as" dialog always pop-up while closing tabs!

Can you explain?

0
Comment actions Permalink

Sorry, but I have no clue which "save as" dialog you are talking about -- never seen one (I'm using PhpStorm since v0.6 or so). Big moment though -- I do not use any of the VCS myself.

Therefore I do not see (and do not remember reading about) any changes that were made between v7 and v8 in this area.

Can you show a screenshot of such dialog (small screencast would be even better)?

0
Comment actions Permalink

OK - I'll probably will have access to v. 7 version of PHPStorm tomorrow. I will double chceck this and will come back with conclusion.
Thank you!

0
Comment actions Permalink

A solution for you might be to change your deployment settings to "local or mounted folder".

I am not totally sure, but I think that setting will copy your local working folder (to another local folder).
You will then work on the copy, and only when you explicitly save (ctrl-S) will the change be written to your working folder.

0
Comment actions Permalink

OK - in fact you were right. I don't know how it could happen that I recalled it other way round :-/

0
Comment actions Permalink

OK - in fact you were right. I don't know how it could happen that I recalled it other way round :-/

0
Comment actions Permalink

OK - I'll give it a try.


0

Please sign in to leave a comment.