When I use search and replace functions (Edit > Find > Replace in Path) and replace fragments in multiple files, the files are not required to be open. Eg, I can specify a directory and its sub-directories and the replace function will replace everything in the files within the selected directories.
However, I noticed when I open one of those files, the content actually is showing correctly (eg, the fragment was replaced) but on the editor tab, the asterix is showing - meaning the file is modified but is not saved.
This is really confusing. What does this mean? Is the file modifed and not saved? But then why is it showing the correct content? If the content is correct why is there an asterix on the tab when the file is opened?
What will happen if I do a commit to a repo? Will the new content be commited? Or the old one?