How do I set default version control options?

Every time I create a new project, I have to go into the Version Control settings and change them to the way I like them. Is there a way to set application-wide version control defaults, so that new projects will get this setting? Is there a way to change this for all existing project as well, without having to go through each of them?

The particular setting that bothers me is "Clear initial commit message". I don't understand why this defaults to off -- why would I want to reuse a previous commit message for a new change?

1 comment

Hi Barry,

Please check "File | Default Settings" (for v6 EAP buid) or "File | Template Settings..." for v5

The particular setting that bothers me is "Clear initial commit message". I don't understand why this defaults to off -- why would I want to reuse a previous commit message for a new change?

Possibly related: http://youtrack.jetbrains.com/issue/IDEA-79098

0

Please sign in to leave a comment.