Deleting local branch, then checking out remote branch undeletes rather than resetting it.

I was surprised when deleting a branch (using branches in the lower left corner) actually didn't delete the branch, but just deleted it in the list.

I have since realized that reverting works, but what's the best way to delete the local copy of the branch (so I can check out the current copy on the remote server)?

3 comments
Comment actions Permalink

This menu item actually deletes the selected branch by using `git branch -d <branch_name>` command.
Could you please provide steps to reproduce the problem, as well as describe how did you check that the branch is not deleted.

0
Comment actions Permalink

Old post but maybe what he means is my same problem. If I delete a local branch and then check it out again from origin I get the same local version I had, not an updated version as it is in origin.

0
Comment actions Permalink

@Pedro,

Could you please provide the exact steps to reproduce the problem? How do you check the branch? 

Also please share the contents of the Console tab from the Version Control toolwindow

0

Please sign in to leave a comment.