Perforce refresh reverts files

I have checked out the manifest.xml file several times in order to get around another bug.  I keep the file in a "DO NOT SUBMIT" changelist.  Several times now the file becomes checked in or reverted.  Is there a way for me to see the full P4 logs somewhere to positively determine how/when this is happening?  I do this sort of thing all the time, and until I started using IntelliJ the files would remain checked out, so I am very sure it is IntelliJ that is doing the revert, I am just not sure when it does it.

Regards, Guy

8 comments

If you're editing this file, IntelliJ IDEA had a feature that automatically executes 'revert if unchanged' when you undo all changes that you've made to it during a session in IntelliJ IDEA. This feature was temporarily disabled in IntelliJ IDEA 11 and will be restored and made optional in version 11.1.

You can enable logging under Settings | Version Control | Perforce | Dump Perforce Commands to...

0

I see the following in the logs:
revert -a /Users/nicholas/Development/wichita/feature/capture/android/wichicam/...
ErrCode=0
StdOut:------------
//wichita/feature/capture/android/wichicam/AndroidManifest.xml#29 - was edit, reverted

I am not sure why it is trying to revert all unchanged files, I have never asked it to.  I do however, have it set to revert unchanged on submits, but that should be limited to the changelist I am submitting, not a global revert.  The file in question is checked out and put into a special change list that never gets checked in.

Regards, Guy

0

Do you perform Update Project? Do you have 'revert unchanged files' enabled in the Update dialog? If you are not presented with a dialog on update, you can enable it in Settings | Version Control | Confirmations.

0

Yes I have 'revert unchanged' enabled.  I am confused.  I come in to work in the morning and I want to pick up all changes from the night before, so I choose "Update Project".  Are you telling me that executes a "revert unchanged"?  That seems wrong.  Is there a command I should be using that fetches all the new stuff without messing with files on my end?  If not, then I think the functionality of Update should be changed.  It should no more do a Revert than it should do a Submit.  By doing so it seems it is making assumptions about my intentions, no?

Regards, Guy

0

Well, in many cases it's useful (e.g. to avoid conflicts), that's why we have this setting. If you don't want this behavior, you can just disable it in this dialog.

0

Actually I don't see that option in the confirmations area.  Where I do see it is as an option in the commit dialog which wouldn't help in this case.

Regards, Guy

0

Sorry I didn't make myself clear. In the confirmations options you enable the Update Project confirmation. And then, when doing update, you see the dialog where you can disable reverting unchanged files.

0

Ah, got it, that's better, thanks.

Regards, Guy

0

Please sign in to leave a comment.