'Before Launch|Make' defaults to unchecked in Run Configurations

Ever since I've started using IDEA 9 this has been catching myself and
my colleagues out.  For some reason both new and existing run
configurations now have this option unchecked, which is incredibly
confusing... I keep running into the situation where I fix something but
the fix doesn't work because it hasn't been compiled.

Is there a particular reason that this is now unchecked by default for
new Run Configurations? And even worse, why is it changed for existing
run configurations? That's just not right.

N.

5 comments

This has caught me out too. Make sure you always change the defaults to 'Make' by default.

I keep finding that when debugging I can't place breakpoints because IDEA thinks a class is out of date even when the project was 'made' before debugging - I have to Ctrl-Shift-F9 to compile it on-the-fly before breakpoints will 'take'.

0

Nathan, in version 9 the format of storing these settings has been changed. As Dave mentioned, just make sure your template configuration has this option checked.

0

Eugene Zhuravlev wrote:

Nathan, in version 9 the format of storing these settings has been changed. As Dave mentioned, just make sure your template configuration has this option checked.

---
Original message URL: http://www.jetbrains.net/devnet/message/5259299#5259299

Hi Eugene,

Thanks, I didn't realise that there was a template setting for this.
I've changed it and it seems ok now.
The question stands however, why is the template setting false by
default, and why do existing run configurations lose their setting?

Regards,
Nathan.

0

Hi Natan,
This is because of storage format change as I mentioned. I'll see if it would be possible to provide a project converter for that.

0

Eugene Zhuravlev wrote:

Hi Natan,
This is because of storage format change as I mentioned. I'll see if it would be possible to provide a project converter for that.

---
Original message URL: http://www.jetbrains.net/devnet/message/5259328#5259328

Yes, some form of migration in v9 for existing users would be good, to
prevent such confusion.
Thanks,
Nathan.

0

Please sign in to leave a comment.