Inspection profiles

Hi guys,

Im sorry for this question, its really kind of a dumb one... But I just dont get it :D I have read all the documentation about it but i do not understand the idea and how it is working....


So, I want a Inspection Profile, which is global, for all and every project. Currently I created a profile in "Default Settings" called "myprofile". But I often find myself configuring inspections which I already deactivated in my "Default Settings" profile.

I also dont understand why there is a "Default" and a "Project Default" and why my "myprofile" is not available when opening the "normal" Settings page.


It is really annoying to configure the Inspections over and over again, so please provide me some additional explanations. And please, dont tell me to read the f**ing manual. I did and I dont understand. Thats why im here ;)




Thank you very much and kind regards,

Sebastian

4 comments
Comment actions Permalink

Hello.

> So, I want a Inspection Profile, which is global, for all and every  project. Currently I created a profile in "Default Settings" called  "myprofile".

Please open Default Settings again and select your profile. Is "Share profile" box checked? "Shared" means "stored together with the project" here.

If your profile is "shared" (and you are in Default Settings), then a copy of this profile will be created (and used) in every new project. Please notice: _a copy_, not a reference to the same profile instance existing somewhere else.

If your profile is not "shared", then it is not stored under project directory, but in application-level config, and it is _the single instance_. It will still be available to every project on the same computer. But since it is stored in user config, not under project directory, it will not be available to the whole project team (if any) via VCS, for example.

Don't hesistate to say it's too complex, I will try to explain it another way.

Regards,
Alexander.

0
Comment actions Permalink

Ok, and which one will be set to new projects automatically?

0
Comment actions Permalink

Actually, both ones can be set. You select it in Default Settings.

If you select a shared profile, then every new project will get the copy of shared profile. If you select non-shared profile, then new project will reference the application-level profile.

Regards,
Alexander.

0
Comment actions Permalink

alright this was how I expected but I thought it didnt worked... However, as
I am sure by now, I will have another look

Thank you!
0

Please sign in to leave a comment.