Request For Details on "Server plugin"

Hi,

Until now I always skipped the server plugin dialog at startup. Then suddenly I thought it would be neat to share my settings accross machines and (not least) save my settings in a central place.

Last time I started I logged in. Now I am logged in. Ok, what now? I stumbeled around trying to find some dialog to see what has happened and what I can do. I could find nozing.

I could find no details anywhere on what exactly happens when I log in.

So:

  • Can anybody clarify what this plugin does exactly?
  • When are local settings moved to the server?
  • Is there only one set of settings on the server?
  • What should I do when I do not happen to have a connection at a certain time?
  • Is developing imposible then? What settings are used?
  • What settings are on the server and what is local?
  • How can I migrate local settings to the server?
  • How can I migrate server setting to local?
  • How can I erase settings from the server?
  • Is there some webpage to administer settings on the server?
  • ....


Eagerly awaiting answers,
-Tom

12 comments
Comment actions Permalink

I agree, it isn't very clear how this works at all. I tried using it a
couple times between 2 PCs I develop off of but wasn't sure what was going
on, what was shared or how to even share anything.

Grant


"Tom Brus" <no_reply@jetbrains.com> wrote in message
news:27463995.24071236542916262.JavaMail.clearspace@app8.labs.intellij.net...

Hi,

>

Until now I always skipped the server plugin dialog at startup. Then
suddenly I thought it would be neat to share my settings accross machines
and (not least) save my settings in a central place.

>

Last time I started I logged in. Now I am logged in. Ok, what now? I
stumbeled around trying to find some dialog to see what has happened and
what I can do. I could find nozing.

>

I could find no details anywhere on what exactly happens when I log in.

>

So:

  • Can anybody clarify what this plugin does exactly?

  • When are local settings moved to the server?

  • Is there only one set of settings on the server?

  • What should I do when I do not happen to have a connection at a certain

time?

  • Is developing imposible then? What settings are used?

  • What settings are on the server and what is local?

  • How can I migrate local settings to the server?

  • How can I migrate server setting to local?

  • How can I erase settings from the server?

  • Is there some webpage to administer settings on the server?

  • ....

>

Eagerly awaiting answers,
-Tom

>

---
Original message URL:
http://www.jetbrains.net/devnet/message/5233445#5233445


0
Comment actions Permalink

tombrus wrote:


  • Can anybody clarify what this plugin does exactly?

Per the IntelliJ IDEA /  Reference /  Dialogs /  Login To IDEA Server Dialog help page:
"IDEA Server is intended for storing common IDE settings to be used by a team. This ensures that all the team members have unified IDE look and feel."

Some of your other questions are answered on that page and on the IntelliJ IDEA /  Procedures /  Configuring the IDE /  Sharing Settings help page. I am not seeing, however, a list of what are considered "common IDE settings to be used by a team" and thus what settings are actual stored there. But based on the comment of "The specified configuration settings will be applied" on the one page, I get the impression you can specify what settings are retreived form the server. I haven't played with it all, so I'm not sure.

I hope that helps some.

0
Comment actions Permalink

Thanks Mark,

I checked the help page (did not find it before). It indeed gives some info but most of my confusion remains :

  • What happens when I connect in the middle of a development session?
  • Are "all" settings instantly swapped to the ones on the server?
  • When I subsequently disconnect, do I continue with the server settings or am I teleported back to the local setting?
  • When I change a setting when connected, do all others connected to these settings instantly get the change as well?


Any comments from JetBrainers?
Is it widely used?
Am I one of the few confused?
Is it sort of beta functionality still worked on?

Still eagerly awaiting clarification...

-Tom

0
Comment actions Permalink

+1

When the initial feature was introduced, I noticed that it shared JDK
paths between different machines.

Which did not work out all that well, since the JDK paths differed.
After that I disabled the feature until it would be clear how to
specifically configure what to share, and what not to share.

-tt

0
Comment actions Permalink

I use it and it works for me well, except:

  • font size (I have different screen resolutions at home and at work, so also different font size: each time I need to change it back)
  • jdk paths (especially once I logged in on windows machine)
  • browser paths (see above)


There should be a setting to exclude things or maybe even better to make profiles (just like with code settings).

0
Comment actions Permalink

I haven't figured out how to use the synchronization either. I already posted a message http://www.jetbrains.net/devnet/thread/280039 but have not recieved any answers. Now the usability of that feature is absolute zero, primarily because there is no visibility of what it does.

I would prefer that there would be a view where you can see all settings that are currently stored on the server, compared to what settings are on the local machine (similar to comparing file version history), and then some buttons for choosing which of those settings are synchronized with the server and how they are synchronized (every time something is changed or manually).

Now I think it would be much better to just disable the whole server plugin and use your own version control repository for storing the settings.

0
Comment actions Permalink

I have now created a Git repository for my IDEA config files, and put
there only those settings that I want to synchronize (codestyles,
colors, fileTemplates, inspection and templates directories, and 4 files
from the options directory). It works much better than the server
plugin, because now I'm in full control of which settings are synchronized.

--
Esko Luontola
www.orfjackal.net

0
Comment actions Permalink

IMHO this definately disqualifies the "Server Plugin" in its current state for me.

I am surpsised that it is so prominently present in the product (in your face everytime you startup) but so unclear.
At the same time, nobody of JetBrains cared to react here.

Discussion closed. I'll take your route Esko.

-Tom

0
Comment actions Permalink

Hello Tom,

We have published a document on our Knowledge Base describing in more detail
how IDEA Server works:
http://www.jetbrains.net/devnet/docs/DOC-1143

Sorry for a delayed answer.

Until now I always skipped the server plugin dialog at startup.
Then suddenly I thought it would be neat to share my settings accross
machines and (not least) save my settings in a central place.

Last time I started I logged in. Now I am logged in. Ok, what now? I
stumbeled around trying to find some dialog to see what has happened
and what I can do. I could find nozing.

I could find no details anywhere on what exactly happens when I log
in.

So:

  • Can anybody clarify what this plugin does exactly?

  • When are local settings moved to the server?

  • Is there only one set of settings on the server?

  • What should I do when I do not happen to have a connection at a

certain time?

  • Is developing imposible then? What settings are used?

  • What settings are on the server and what is local?

  • How can I migrate local settings to the server?

  • How can I migrate server setting to local?

  • How can I erase settings from the server?

  • Is there some webpage to administer settings on the server?

  • ....

Eagerly awaiting answers,
-Tom
---
Original message URL:
http://www.jetbrains.net/devnet/message/5233445#5233445

--
Dmitry Jemerov
Development Lead
JetBrains, Inc.
http://www.jetbrains.com/
"Develop with Pleasure!"


0
Comment actions Permalink

Hi Dmitry,

Thanks for that page, that is exactly what I needed.

...and I say it again: Thanks for the great product that IntelliJ is, it truely makes me develop with pleasure!

-Tom

0
Comment actions Permalink

According to the document, fonts and color schemes are synced. What
happens if the available fonts are different on two machines? For
instance, I use IDEA on a Mac and a PC. On the PC, I use Consolas as an
editor font. This font isn't installed on the Mac. What would happen?

0
Comment actions Permalink

In above case font goes to default one (monospace)., At least that happened to me between two linux machines.
I don't know what happens when you loggin into another machine (if that one becomes monospace too)

0

Please sign in to leave a comment.