# 8280 - Unshelve changes problem

I shelved a bunch of files so that I could make a small change to one of them for an interim product release. When the change was complete and archived to CVS, and the interim product release was finished, I unshelved the changes, expecting a merge (automatic or manual) of the changed file with the shelved version. Instead, I got a message box showing the change I'd made, and saying it was unable to apply the patch because it was expecting the original (pre-change) code. Unless I have completely misunderstood the 'Shelving' feature, this seems to defeat the whole purpose of it...

Also, although all the other shelved files are still displayed on the shelf, the Unshelve process has actually unshelved them correctly - shouldn't they be removed from the shelf as they are unshelved? I now have a shelf full of files, all but one of which have actually been unshelved...

I eventually recovered the correct version of the problem shelved file from the local history, but it seems to me that the current shelving process is useless if you want to change any of the files that have been shelved.

Is this a bug? If not, what is shelving good for if it can't merge a file that was changed while on the shelf?

Please sign in to leave a comment.