VM Options - reset by IDEA

When I set the VM Options and run IDEA, it seems to read and run with the new options, but resets them in the file to the defaults as it does so (before the project has finished loading). This means that next time I run it, IDEA is back to the default settings and runs out of memory.

I can stop this happening by making the VM Options file read-only, but it seems a bit unnecessary...

Is this a new feature, or have I just not noticed it in previous releases?

1 comment

Hello Dave,

When I set the VM Options and run IDEA, it seems to read and run with
the new options, but resets them in the file to the defaults as it
does so (before the project has finished loading). This means that
next time I run it, IDEA is back to the default settings and runs out
of memory.

I can stop this happening by making the VM Options file read-only, but
it seems a bit unnecessary...

Is this a new feature, or have I just not noticed it in previous
releases?


This is most likely caused by a third-party plugin (VM Options plugin?).
IDEA itself doesn't have any code for writing the .vmoptions file.

--
Dmitry Jemerov
Development Lead
JetBrains, Inc.
http://www.jetbrains.com/
"Develop with Pleasure!"


0

Please sign in to leave a comment.