upgrade procedure to 4.5 from 4.0.3?

I'm using 4.0.3 on Windows and am curious about the best way to upgrade. I don't need two instance of IDEA around. Should I uninstall 4.0.3 first? (my settings are in my home directory so I'm thinking this should be ok). Does it matter if I just uninstall 4.0.3 afterwards? I get a bit confused when I get to the section of the 4.0.5 upgrade when it asks is you want to use existing settings from another IDEA version and then it wants you to provide a directory? It seems to want me to provide my 4.0.3 directory, but I'm not aware of any settings I keep in there so I'm a bit confused.

5 comments
Comment actions Permalink

I usually leave the old install around for a while (never know when
something might happen). I install the new version without importing
settings - treat it like a new install. The home directory will still
be used and your existing configs will be saved (most of them anyway).

You may need to redefine your projects (mostly applies to web). There
were bugs in the EAP process that needed the project to be recreated for
everything to fall into place. This may have been fixed, but I have no
idea.

Rick wrote:

>I'm using 4.0.3 on Windows and am curious about the best way to upgrade. I don't need two instance of IDEA around. Should I uninstall 4.0.3 first? (my settings are in my home directory so I'm thinking this should be ok). Does it matter if I just uninstall 4.0.3 afterwards? I get a bit confused when I get to the section of the 4.0.5 upgrade when it asks is you want to use existing settings from another IDEA version and then it wants you to provide a directory? It seems to want me to provide my 4.0.3 directory, but I'm not aware of any settings I keep in there so I'm a bit confused.

>

0
Comment actions Permalink

The best way from now on would be to use IDEA's install folder to keep your
settings. In this way, when you install a new version of IDEA and you are
asked to Import settings from a previous version, you can provide the
installation folder of your previous version.

It worked for me from 4.0.0, 4.0.2, 4.0.3, some 4.5 EAP's and now 4.5

>I'm using 4.0.3 on Windows and am curious about the best way to upgrade.

I don't need two instance of IDEA around. Should I uninstall 4.0.3 first?
(my settings are in my home directory so I'm thinking this should be ok).
Does it matter if I just uninstall 4.0.3 afterwards? I get a bit confused
when I get to the section of the 4.0.5 upgrade when it asks is you want to
use existing settings from another IDEA version and then it wants you to
provide a directory? It seems to want me to provide my 4.0.3 directory, but
I'm not aware of any settings I keep in there so I'm a bit confused.

>
>



0
Comment actions Permalink

I get leary of that uninstall stuff. Never know when it's going to grab
your settings. At least for IntelliJ. When there is a major version
and I'm sure it works, I just delete the old program file. It will
leave an entry in the Add/Remove programs. When you go back and click
remove, Windows will just remove the entry. Luckily, IntelliJ doesn't
muck up your registry settings. It's worked for me, going on 3 years.

Marius Baghiu wrote:

>The best way from now on would be to use IDEA's install folder to keep your
>settings. In this way, when you install a new version of IDEA and you are
>asked to Import settings from a previous version, you can provide the
>installation folder of your previous version.
>
>It worked for me from 4.0.0, 4.0.2, 4.0.3, some 4.5 EAP's and now 4.5
>

>
>>>I'm using 4.0.3 on Windows and am curious about the best way to upgrade.
>>>
>>>
>I don't need two instance of IDEA around. Should I uninstall 4.0.3 first?
>(my settings are in my home directory so I'm thinking this should be ok).
>Does it matter if I just uninstall 4.0.3 afterwards? I get a bit confused
>when I get to the section of the 4.0.5 upgrade when it asks is you want to
>use existing settings from another IDEA version and then it wants you to
>provide a directory? It seems to want me to provide my 4.0.3 directory, but
>I'm not aware of any settings I keep in there so I'm a bit confused.

>
>>>
>>>
>
>

>

0
Comment actions Permalink

What do you mean you just delete the old program file? You mean the idea.exe? What's the point of just deleting one file from the old 4.0.3 directory and then going to add/remove programs to remove idea? I would think using the windows remove IDEA, will end up deleting the old IDEA program file, so I'm not sure why you say to manually remove that?

0
Comment actions Permalink

I delete the old program directory structure. Then when you go to
add/remove programs, windows can't access the programs and removes the
entry from it's list.

Rick wrote:

>What do you mean you just delete the old program file? You mean the idea.exe? What's the point of just deleting one file from the old 4.0.3 directory and then going to add/remove programs to remove idea? I would think using the windows remove IDEA, will end up deleting the old IDEA program file, so I'm not sure why you say to manually remove that?

>

0

Please sign in to leave a comment.