Wierd diff/merge problem in 4.0

Using the released 4.0 Idea, I am seeing strange behaviour using the diff/merge dialog. If I do a local history comparison, I can see the current version of a file in the right hand pane and the selected historical version on the left hand side. If I then choose a difference to merge across from one version to the other, the merge works fine but both display panes now show the (new) current version. If I want to merge more changes, I have to exit the dialog and bring it up again and do one more merge whereby both display panes decide to display the current version again. And so on....

Is any one else experiencing this frustrating problem???

3 comments

You have to re-select the historical version in the history. It seems that
certain
merge-operations cause such a reset...

On Mon, 16 Feb 2004 22:52:44 +0000 (UTC), Ian Booth
<no_mail@jetbrains.com> wrote:

Using the released 4.0 Idea, I am seeing strange behaviour using the
diff/merge dialog. If I do a local history comparison, I can see the
current version of a file in the right hand pane and the selected
historical version on the left hand side. If I then choose a difference
to merge across from one version to the other, the merge works fine but
both display panes now show the (new) current version. If I want to
merge more changes, I have to exit the dialog and bring it up again and
do one more merge whereby both display panes decide to display the
current version again. And so on....

>

Is any one else experiencing this frustrating problem???


0

You are correct - the historical version has to be reselected if you want to do more diff/merging. This is a real pain in the you know what. I would consider this to be a pretty bad bug. Now that I think about it, I am sure that this behaviour only started during the latter part of the EAP - it certainly worked properly at some stage. Because no one else complained about it, I just assumed I was doing something wrong. Should I file a bug in tracker? Is this something the Jetbrains people consider to be a bug?

0

Ian Booth wrote:

You are correct - the historical version has to be reselected if you want to do more diff/merging. This is a real pain in the you know what. I would consider this to be a pretty bad bug. Now that I think about it, I am sure that this behaviour only started during the latter part of the EAP - it certainly worked properly at some stage. Because no one else complained about it, I just assumed I was doing something wrong. Should I file a bug in tracker? Is this something the Jetbrains people consider to be a bug?

I would consider anything that's a pain in the you-know-what to be a
bug. (Unless it's one of my bugs! ;)

--
Regards,
Rob Harwood
Software Developer
JetBrains, Inc
http://www.intellij.com
"Develop with pleasure!"

0

Please sign in to leave a comment.