OS X installer behavior

I'm curious why the OS X and Windows installers don't behavior
identically. On Windows, you can choose the installation directory and,
if it already hosts an IDEA installation, the installer will (if you
proceed after a suitable warning) clear that directory and then place
the new build there. On OS X, as far as I can tell, you cannot choose
the IDEA directory--you can only choose the install directory's
parent. Does this have something to do with the way applications are
packaged on OS X? (I use IDEA on OS X, but I don't do OS X
development, alas.)

It's not a big deal, perhaps--except during an EAP when I'm doing
frequent installations. I guess I should really have asked a couple of
months ago. (But back then we weren't getting new builds every day!)

Please sign in to leave a comment.