Module with same name as project

Hello,

I'm wondering if anyone else has seen this behavior with modules in build 963...

I have a project that has several modules in it. One of the modules has the same name as my project. I did not create this module and when I delete it from Tools->Modules dialog box, it's still in the project window. When I restart IntelliJ, it's back in the Tools->Modules dialog box.

Is this a bug or some feature that I don't understand?

Thanks,
Tim

7 comments

I read that the modules UI is temporary, and a real modules UI in the project preferences window will be implemented later. I think you've probably found one limitation of the current UI.

0

I guess it is the still existing main module from the project properties
dialog.

Michael

Tim wrote:

Hello,

I'm wondering if anyone else has seen this behavior with modules in build 963...

I have a project that has several modules in it. One of the modules has the same name as my project. I did not create this module and when I delete it from Tools->Modules dialog box, it's still in the project window. When I restart IntelliJ, it's back in the Tools->Modules dialog box.

Is this a bug or some feature that I don't understand?

Thanks,
Tim


0

Tim wrote:

Hello,

I'm wondering if anyone else has seen this behavior with modules in build
963...

I have a project that has several modules in it. One of the modules has
the same name as my project. I did not create this module and when I
delete it from Tools->Modules dialog box, it's still in the project
window. When I restart IntelliJ, it's back in the Tools->Modules dialog
box.

Is this a bug or some feature that I don't understand?


It is a bug (rudimentary from old modules UI). Will be fixed soon.

Friendly,
Dmitry
--
Dmitry Lomov
IntelliJ Labs / JetBrains Inc.
http://www.intellij.com
"Develop with pleasure!"

0

Okay, thanks for letting me know. I'll ignore it for now.

Tim

0

Just fyi - I'd run into this before and even tried deleting it from the project file (after shutting down). On restart it is recreated.

cheers
dim

0

Same here, I tried deleting it and noticed it was recreated the next time I restarted IntelliJ. Persistent bugger. :)

0

Dmitri Colebatch wrote:

Just fyi - I'd run into this before and even tried deleting it from the
project file (after shutting down). On restart it is recreated.


Elephants never die :)

Cheers,
Dmitry
--
Dmitry Lomov
IntelliJ Labs / JetBrains Inc.
http://www.intellij.com
"Develop with pleasure!"

0

Please sign in to leave a comment.