Force prompt before SVN merge

Hi,

Does anybody know of a way to force a prompt before SVN automatically merges files when updating a project? You know, like the screen that shows up when conflicts were detected? I find the merge feature does a REALLY bad job sometimes and I would prefer always double checking before it merges. I know I can always use the Local History to go back if I'm not satisfied with the results but I'd rather be prompted in the first place. Does it have to do with Intellij or is it something that I could configure in my SVN installation?

Thanks.

2 comments
Comment actions Permalink

If there are no conflicts how could the merging be done badly? If there are no conflicts then that means it has been able to merge succesfully with no human input needed.

What kind of things have you seen the merge do badly?

0
Comment actions Permalink

I didn't have a good example at the time but now I just had a good one. I had an EJB 3.0 entity bean locally in which I added a @NamedQuery; there was none before so I added the @NamedQueries({@NamedQuery ...}). Someone else did the same to that entity (a different query with a different name) and committed his changes. When I updated, it crushed my query with his. It didn't prompt me to merge. It did it on its own. Attached to this post is a screenshot of the diff when using the local history. To me, that should've prompted a merge. What do you think?



Attachment(s):
idea_diff.jpg
0

Please sign in to leave a comment.