Delete a project

How can I delete or permanently remove a project from the IDE? The way I am doing it right now is to go to the file system and delete its associate ipr and iws files, which is not an elegant way

6 comments
Comment actions Permalink

why not? I do it that way too, nothing wrong with it since everything about a project is stored in there.

0
Comment actions Permalink

I'd have to agree with Hai here. I have 20-30 IDEA projects on my machine,
but only ever work on 3 or so at a time. I'm not ready to delete the old
projects, and I'd rather not have to sort through a list of long list of
projects in IDEA just to find the one I want.

I know that you can entirely wipe out the list of recent projects, so that
helps a little, but it might be nice (though admittedly low priority for me)
to have a simple way to manage the list.

"Robert S. Sfeir" <robert@sfeir.net> wrote in message
news:4097682.1043588881525.JavaMail.jrun@is.intellij.net...

why not? I do it that way too, nothing wrong with it since everything

about a project is stored in there.


0
Comment actions Permalink

sounds like a great idea for a plugin. Project manager plugin or something like that?

0
Comment actions Permalink

IDEA keeps a lot of project-related files in its system directory: caches, LVCS. It would be nice having some means to clean up that data automatically.

0
Comment actions Permalink

That's what I meant by "elegant". How do you know deleting those 2 files will completely remove the project and all the resources/garbages associated with that project from the system? Plug-in does not work either as that 's resource cleanup are not defined any where in the API. Must be a new feature for the IDE...

0
Comment actions Permalink

I'd have to agree with Hai here. I have 20-30 IDEA
projects on my machine,
but only ever work on 3 or so at a time. I'm not
ready to delete the old
projects, and I'd rather not have to sort through a
list of long list of
projects in IDEA just to find the one I want.


Fortunately IDEA sorts the projects by the last access date, so if you only work on a few and don't switch TOO often, you normally just have to pick your project from the first few ones listed.
In my opinion, this is absolutely reasonable behavior; I don't see any need for additional functionality here.

Regards,
Jens

0

Please sign in to leave a comment.