I am fairly new to PhpStorm so I would like to know if what I am experiencing during an update is considered normal. Here is what happens when I get a notification in PhpStorm that there is a new build available.
Now here is the problem - after updating I lose all my settings and the application is recognized as an evaluation copy (doesn't run with my licensing information). As far as I can see the updating process doesn't copy settings from idea.properties and PhpStorm.exe.vmoptions to the new installation folder which results in PhpStorm running on default settings. Given that I use a custom .WebIde folder in order to take advantage of SSD drive speeds for caching etc. I would completelly understand what's causing the problem but what I would like to know is if it is normal for the IDE to ignore previous configuration on update?