Mardown plugin doesn't show preview

Hey there,

as described above my WebStorm IDE doesn't show up the preview tab for markdown files anymore. This happens with any .md file. A current example, as provided below might look like this.

idea.log

README.md

6
55 comments

I have same issue. I'm using IDEA 2020.3.1 on Windows 10-

I tried disabling Markdown, restarting IDE and enabling it again, but it didn't help.

0

Ante Modrić and you're using the built-in Jetbrains JDK, or are you using OpenJDK?

1

Michael Faith I'm using Oracle JDK, JAVA SE 15

0

Ante Modrić unless this has changed, they use JavaFX for rendering markdown, as discussed above.  And Oracle JDK hasn't included JavaFX since 11.  As described above, changing to the JetBrains JDK for running the IDE should solve this.

0

Installing Markdown Navigator Enhanced helps.

0

I faced the same issue on Arch. Installing Markdown Navigator Enhanced and switching to liberica-jdk-11-full-bin helped.

0

I also had the version of the issue described by @yasin-mesut 

Specifically what happened was that I tried to create a file, "MyDumbFile" but accidentally ommitting the ".md" extension when I had named the new file.  I then renamed that file to be "MyDumbFile.md".  Subsequently, it kept opening as a simple text file.  It turned out that that steps I took had inadvertently added "MyDumbFile.md" to the list of patterns for text files, with took priority over the "*.md" pattern for markdowns.

As yasin said, going into File | Settings | File Types | Text files and removing the offending line fixed everything, so really I'm just posting to add the information on how to not add a new file :/ 

0

I didn't test it myself so yet, but this thread seems like it could have the answer:

https://intellij-support.jetbrains.com/hc/en-us/community/posts/360001515959-Markdown-Support-plugin-preview-not-working-in-Linux

tldr: The JDK used to run pycharm on your PC might not support javafx by default.

0

Same issue. Re-enabling works, but eventually stops.

IntelliJ IDEA 2021.1.3 (Ultimate Edition)
Build #IU-211.7628.21, built on June 29, 2021

Runtime version: 11.0.11+9-b1341.60 x86_64
VM: OpenJDK 64-Bit Server VM by JetBrains s.r.o.
macOS 11.4
GC: G1 Young Generation, G1 Old Generation
Memory: 2048M
Cores: 16



Non-Bundled Plugins: 
com.bum.intellij.tailwindcss (2.0.2)
com.intellij.ideolog (203.0.27.0)
de.docs_as_co.intellij.plugin.diagramsnet (0.1.8)
lermitage.intellij.extra.icons (1.56.0.203)
org.jetbrains.plugins.go-template (211.6693.44)
com.intellij.kubernetes (211.7442.27)
org.sonarlint.idea (5.0.1.33703)
org.whitesource.wss-intellij-plugin (21.6.1)
Dart (211.7665)
io.flutter (57.0.5)
me.mbolotov.cypress (1.4.1)
org.jetbrains.plugins.vue (211.7142.13)
Pythonid (211.7628.21)
ru.adelf.idea.dotenv (2021.2)

Kotlin: 211-1.5.10-release-891-IJ7142.45
0

I never knew this plugin had a preview feature and I have been using Android Studio for the last maybe 2 years. I suppose it never worked. I had it installed on two computers, both with Windows 10. I had version 4.1 and then 4.2 installed new on a fresh new Windows.

Never saw any preview tab or button. I tried switching JDKs and JREs and nothing worked. No errors in the logs either. Tried all these configs

Version 4.1

IDE: Android Studio (build #AI-201.8743.12.41.7199119, 11 Mar 2021 01:02) 
OS: Windows 10 (10.0, amd64)
JRE: 1.8.0_242-release-1644-b01 (JetBrains s.r.o)
JVM: 25.242-b01 (OpenJDK 64-Bit Server VM)

Version 4.2.2

Android Studio 4.2.2 Build #AI-202.7660.26.42.7486908 
JDK: 1.8.0_302; VM: OpenJDK 64-Bit Server VM; Vendor: BellSoft
OS: Windows 10
Android Studio (build #AI-202.7660.26.42.7486908, 24 Jun 2021 02:31) 
OS: Windows 10 (10.0, amd64)
JRE: 11.0.8+10-b944.6842174 (N/A)
JVM: 11.0.8+10-b944.6842174 (OpenJDK 64-Bit Server VM)

 

0

As per Manoj Reddy, I found making a change to the file triggers a preview load (then undoing the change). However, I also find that switching between modes "Editor only" and "Editor and Preview" will load the preview. In my set up, these buttons are at the top right, as per pic. Still a workaround as opposed to a fix.

0

This answer was pretty right, however, not totally complete in my case.

Make sure Markdown files or README.md are not listed in "File types auto-detected by file content". You can see the screenshot linked to this comment. Don't forget to restart IDE after operation.

0

In my case the culprit was unescaped special characters specifically [ and ]. Escaping them caused the preview to render correctly.

0

I had this problem. I disabled the Grazied plugin and removed and reinstalled the bundled markdown plugin. Then it started working again.

Before that step, nothing worked. I tried all suggestions above except changing the JRE. Markdown was not listed as filetype in Editor->File Types, despite multiple removes and reinstalls of the bundled Markdown plugin.

I've reenabled the Grazie plugin; it is still working.

Also, the marketplace extension Markdown Editor is also working. Previously, not.

0

I had the same, no preview panel.

If that helps, I was on Manjaro with OpenJDK11 installed via pacman (official repo). That seems to be the culprit. I switchd to JetBrains Runtime 17 and my preview panel is back.

0

I have the same issue. Confirmed it's:

- not a file association issue (markdown plugin displays the file, as expected)

- occurs with each markdown file

- no error appears in logs

- switching to JetBrain's JDK does not help (just installed 17.0.5-b653.23)

0

same here, my question is the same as upstairs

but my files is just occasionally fail to preview, and maybe it's because these file is a little big(about 200kB), and also no error log...

0

I have the same problem where the markdown preview very consistently stops rendering when ever I hover over anything long enough to have a tooltip appear. The preview window will render again when I resize IntelliJ and disappear again when mouse over any of ide functionality. This even happens when using the new Courses functionality.

2

I'm experiencing the same as Merbes, the preview displays until I hover anywhere that produces a tooltip.  This shows up in both InteliJ  2023.1.3 (Ultimate Edition) and PyCharm 2023.1.2 (Professional Edition)  both running JDK 17.0.6  on MacOS 13.4.1.  No errors reported in the idea.log and the markdown is just a bullet list

0

This happens when using Windows 11 and WSL projects and the new UI on most of the Jetbrains tooling, the Markdown window does not show, 

If you install say webstorm inside of wsl the preview works fine, so there must be an issue with detecting if file is markdown when run as a windows client accessing wsl using the new UI

The old UI shows markdown preview fine.

0
Hi Scott,

Please provide the idea.log file collected after reproducing the issue: 'Help | Show Log in...' I will check your environment and hardware setup, as well as versions of the installed components and possible error messages.

You can upload the file to https://uploads.jetbrains.com and share the generated upload id here.
0

arina sorry for delay, heres the log ID

Upload id: 2023_09_14_6qy4VJrHKnbCwvA8wkgENk (file: idea.log)

 

-Scott

0
Hello, 

Unfortunately, this feature is not implemented yet. We plan to fix it in the next 2023.3 release.
0

After trying to add ide.browser.jcef.gpu.disable=true in Help | Edit Custom Properties and restart the IDE, it did not work for me.

I noticed that I am running Idea application as Administrator every time, so I started the app in normal mode, and worked fine., without in additions in properties.

#Markdown #preview #MD #file #IDEA #IntelliJ

0

This fixed it for me – GPU support for internal browser isn't working right on my XDR displays. 

Help > Edit Custom Properties

- Add ide.browser.jcef.gpu.disable=true save, then restart the IDE.

https://stackoverflow.com/a/74535497/786389

0

Please sign in to leave a comment.