Why are HTML live templates being suggested for JS?

When typing out "a", the first option that is given is to expand "a" into an anchor tag. Then when I press spacebar it expands to that...

This just seems so silly that I have to ask why? Is this the intended functionality or did something go wrong with my settings?

In the settings it says that it's applicable only in JSX HTML but this isn't JSX anyways so I'm really not sure why this is being applied here.

I actually had to switch from the "default expand" option back to tab from spacebar, but I still would like to know why there are tons of live templates being suggested in irrelevant contexts. It looks like every HTML tag is being suggested (e.g., "h1", "p", etc.)

I have:

- Disabled emmet everywhere

- Disabled JSX Emmet

- Invalidated Caches

- Reset the live templates to their defaults

8 comments
Comment actions Permalink

can't reproduce, even in JSX files. Please try disabling JSX Emmet in Settings | Editor | Emmet | JSX - does it make things any better?

0
Comment actions Permalink

sadly no, turning off JSX emmet doesn't help things

0
Comment actions Permalink

I also tried reinstalling WebStorm with Sync Settings plugin turned off, but when I reinstall it, all my settings still come back. Are there any hidden config files/folders that I'm not aware of? I even tried searching my entire computer for everything related to JetBrains but nothing turned up. How exactly does WebStorm and other JetBrains IDEs give me all my settings back when there are no config files or folders and Sync Settings are turned off?

0
Comment actions Permalink

Configuration files aren't removed when you uninstall the IDE. Please see https://www.jetbrains.com/help/webstorm/directories-used-by-the-ide-to-store-settings-caches-plugins-and-logs.html#config-directory for information about config files location

You can try starting the IDE with default settings (File > Manage IDE Settings > Restore Default Settings...) - does the issue persist? This action auto-creates a backup of your current settings, so they won't be lost

0
Comment actions Permalink

surprisingly, yes, it's still doing it :-(

 

0
Comment actions Permalink

So why did this issue get marked as resolved exactly?

0
Comment actions Permalink

Because it's fixed. The fix will be available in the next 2021.3 Beta - see Available In field:

0

Please sign in to leave a comment.