No way to close or hide Safe Mode warning on project

I'm OK with certain projects not needing non-safe-mode "run" functionality or whatever, so I leave them in Safe Mode, but I don't need to be constantly warned that they're in Safe Mode, and I see no way to close/hide this warning like I can with others.

What did I miss? Is this a bug, or an annoying unnecessary feature (forcing it to be there all the time in Safe Mode)?

The way it should behave is have an x button on the right that closes it, then whenever I want to use something restricted by Safe Mode, I get a warning box with an option to cancel or continue, disabling Safe Mode and using whatever feature I needed.

Maybe JetBrains hasn't gotten this far yet, but I'd rather not see something warning me that I have my seat belt on all of the time when I'm driving.

5 comments
Comment actions Permalink

Basically, there is no option to turn off this notification (unless you trust the project) and I was not able to find any registry hack as well. I would suggest submitting a corresponding feature request/usability issue to the public tracker:

https://youtrack.jetbrains.com/newIssue

0
Comment actions Permalink

I added the project's path to Trusted Sources, and that didn't seem to actually make it trusted, even after invalidating cache. The Git tab also never came back, and I couldn't find it in the top menu selections.

Something is wrong with Trusted Sources.

I ended up moving the project's .idea folder out, then having to trust the project upon re-opening, then re-config some things (there wasn't much thankfully). I think the feature is not complete.

0
Comment actions Permalink

You are right, this is a new feature, so there is a lot of things to find and fix yet. 

Apparently, you were experiencing the following issue:
https://youtrack.jetbrains.com/issue/IDEA-282826

Also, there is a known bug that appears when the project directory is located under a project directory that is not trusted:
https://youtrack.jetbrains.com/issue/IDEA-284642

1
Comment actions Permalink

This is ridiculous.  I just renewed my license for probably the Nth year and this is still not fixed. I will NOT trust a project just to get rid of a warning, that is a SECURITY RISK.  It's been over half a year and this has not been fixed.  What are we paying for?  Is this a sign to move to VS code like everyone else?

0
Comment actions Permalink

This issue is being addressed in the following ticket:
https://youtrack.jetbrains.com/issue/IDEA-294954/Trust-project-editor-notification-banner-is-missing-the-Dont-show-Dismiss-button

I have left an internal comment to draw some extra attention to the problem and raise the ticket.

We are sorry for the unpleasant experience. 

0

Please sign in to leave a comment.