Petition to change "Ctrl-Y" default binding to "redo" on Windows

Answered

Hi Pycharmers,

Ctrl-Y is the standard "redo" in all of Microsoft's products. "Ctrl-Shift-Z" does nothing in Microsoft Word.

Windows users are heavily impacted by Pycharm defaulting Ctrl-Y to delete a line. If you're in a state where you've undone many changes and you hit Ctrl-Y then you've destroyed your redo history and a lot of work may have been lost.

Please fix this as a platform compatibility courtesy and a UX need. For reference, here is the notepad++ discussion https://github.com/notepad-plus-plus/notepad-plus-plus/issues/856

Cheers and thanks,

Yuval

19 comments
Comment actions Permalink

Please, vote for https://youtrack.jetbrains.com/issue/IDEA-161842 to increase its priority and be notified about updates.

1
Comment actions Permalink

I really hope someone takes notice of this. Forgetting that CTRL-Y doesn't mean "redo" in this circumstance is infuriating and disheartening. Not to mention, I'm having difficulty finding where in the settings menu to change the key binding, but I'm sure the internet will help me.

1
Comment actions Permalink

WOW just got bitten by this big time!

Why on earth have an editor for windows that doesn't at-lest support windows editing shortcut keys.

 

1
Comment actions Permalink

I came across this issue during my first experience with a JetBrains product. To this day I still get bit by this very often, to the point where I try to avoid the IDEs all together. Everything else about JetBrains' products is pretty cool, but I just hate using them because of the scars this issue has left. Please fix!

1
Comment actions Permalink

I had this issue really mess me up once.  After that, I changed the key bindings. =)

You can change them by following the directions here:

https://www.jetbrains.com/help/pycharm/configuring-keyboard-and-mouse-shortcuts.html

 

2
Comment actions Permalink

I just lost an hour's work because of this. What a nightmare. Intellij might also reconsider their "automatic saving" strategy (or lack thereof).

 

5
Comment actions Permalink

After I started using webstorm for a while, I've grown to avoid and fear the dreadful CTRL+y.

CTRL+z is fine because it goes one step backwards in my history of things done. CTRL+y will usually (actually ALWAYS) go one step forward in the history of things done, except in webstorm where it simply wipes out your redo-history and replaces it with a "removed a line of code" action instead.

It's a matter of time before I lose my work to a quick and accidental muscle-memory trying to perform "re-do". 

1
Comment actions Permalink

Dear @Anna

I don't get it.  This issue has been around for two years.  It's gotten lots of votes.  It would be utterly trivial to fix.  But there's no indication it ever will.  It's one of many obvious, frustrating bugs that seem to languish forever.

What exactly am I paying for, if my subscription doesn't procure fixes to simple, highly destructive design flaws like this one?

2
Comment actions Permalink

I made an account as well just to tell you, you guys are indeed huge cunts for this

1
Comment actions Permalink

CHANGE CTRL-Y TO UNDO, NOT DELETE LINE

Are you kidding me? This has got to be some kind of joke. Literally this single functionality completely makes me want to throw your all's product out the window. It's caused me to mess up my code several times now by deleting a couple of lines while I'm trying to debug through an edit history.

COME ON!!!!!

3
Comment actions Permalink

FUCK.

YOU.

PYCHARM.

0
Comment actions Permalink

Lost lots of codes because this delete line on ctrl+y crap.

2
Comment actions Permalink

What a horrible idea, not only does ctrl+y not function like you expect, you loose your undo history at the same time!

For those that are trying to recover from data loss, use the local file history. Signed up purely to express my frustration with this stupid default, and to post how to recover from the data loss for others. Not perfect, but so much better than nothing if you did a lot of undos like I did before hitting ctrl + y.

https://www.jetbrains.com/help/idea/local-history.html

1
Comment actions Permalink

WHY???? *cries*

0
Comment actions Permalink

HORRIBLE default for Windows users. But ... you can reconfigure it so CTRL + y will do redo instead of delete.

https://www.jetbrains.com/help/pycharm/configuring-keyboard-and-mouse-shortcuts.html

0
Comment actions Permalink

This is so stupid I have an hard time wrapping my head around it

0
Comment actions Permalink

What the hell is wrong with pycharm devs that this is not fixed after years....

0
Comment actions Permalink

potential customers who value their sanity should steer far clear of Pycharm. It's evident that they just aren't going to fix their products even after masses of customer complaints.

I'm afraid it's just a case of bad management at it's worst with JetBrains, and (sadly) they don't appear to give a care anymore. I imagine all of them are laughing at the fact that some of us are even paying for this crap. 

0

Please sign in to leave a comment.