Multiple users on same project

Hi, we work on 2 different pc running a version of phpstorm. If we work on the same project, at the same time, we get several weird things happens like: phpstorm doesn't see if a file is changed on the server. So If I reopen a file I already work on, it will open the file as I left it, even if someone else did work and change it. I downloaded the idea server, no big change. Each  pc is overriding the other config. So each time I open a project that is share with another pc, I have to remap FTP and alot of things are the setting changed by the other PC. Is it normal? Is there a way that 2 pc work on the same project?
Thanks

16 comments
Comment actions Permalink

As I know, work with project in shared/mounted folder is officially unsupported. You should have working copy on your pc and setup phpstorm to upload changes to shared folder.

0
Comment actions Permalink

Hi there,

It is not clear from your message how you actually access/share your project files.

In any case -- all your project settings are stored in .idea folder in root of your project folder. You can share the content of this folder except workspace.xml (you can read about it in a bit more this discussion: http://devnet.jetbrains.net/message/5276784#5276784).

0
Comment actions Permalink

All our files resides on a server. We work directly from that server. We are 2 developers and we work on same project frequently (not on the same files). We don't use version control, we only work on local file and upload the file we are working on an ftp server.
Is it possible to work like that with phpstorm?

Thanks for your help. I really like phpStorm and I'd like to resolve this issue.

0
Comment actions Permalink

Sorry, I just read first reply. Thats what I though about shared folder. Thanks.

0
Comment actions Permalink

Hi,

the same problem here at our company :-(

We are working on the same server directories (one is the code-person the other is a qs-person).
Because we both use PHP-STORM and we both use the same .idea directory the IDE is bugging me with
notifications that the "workspace.xml" has changed :-(

Any chance to deactivate this message ?

Greets,

Ralf

0
Comment actions Permalink

Hi Ralf,

As I understand, the project is located in shared folder on server and you both accessing it directly at the same time.

This method is unsupported/highly not recommended -- and there are reasons for that (you just experienced one of them).

Read Dmitriy's post -- each of you should have working copy on your own PC and setup PhpStorm to upload changes to/synchronize with shared folder: File | New Project from Existing Files -> 2nd option (My web server is on remote host, files are accessible via network share or mounted drive).

0
Comment actions Permalink

Hi,

perfect is the way Netbeans did this job! There You can choose if you want your metadata directory in the same directory as the sources (server) or place the metadata (.idea) in a personal directory on your local drive.

Greets,

Ralf

0
Comment actions Permalink

Well, unfortunately whole IDEA platform has different project management approach to other IDEs (how and where it stores project settings, you cannot easily rename project etc).

But even if PhpStorm/IDEA could do that (metadata directory outside project folder), there are still reasons why opening project directly over network (shared folder, VPN connection etc) is not good idea -- most likely you will experience random and sudden lockups/system unresponsiveness etc -- I have been on forum/tracker long enough to read quite a few of such threads.

Any way -- you can post your suggestion as feature request on Issue Tracker: http://youtrack.jetbrains.net/issues/WI#newissue=yes

0
Comment actions Permalink

Hello,

We work exclusively on mounted shares too. We work on local copies and we have set changes to upload automatically.

We just switch from Zend Studio to PhpStorm and we face an anoying issue described in the first post.: "phpstorm doesn't see if a file is changed on the server. So If I reopen a file I already work on, it will open the file as I left it, even if someone else did work and change it."

Here follows the behavior we are expecting from PhpStorm. When we open a file, or we click a file tab, a check would be automatically performed by the IDE to verify if a change occurred on the server. If so PhpStorm would ask to update the local file, with "do not ask anymore" saving the user action for future similar cases.

Can such a behavior be configure ?

0
Comment actions Permalink

Hi there,

We work exclusively on mounted shares too. We work on local copies and we have set changes to upload automatically.

Settings | Deployment | select your deployment entry | Options

There is an option: "Warn when uploading over newer file" -- when activated "Notify about remote changes" will become available -- should help.

Other than that -- you should work with VCS and just use merge for your code with server one.

0
Comment actions Permalink

That option makes the warning appear when when we save a file, not when we open it or focus it in the editor. What is annoying is that if a change occured we have to manually deal with merging the files which is time consuming.

We need to be warned of a change before we start editing a file, then of course if the files did change while editing we can deal with merging the changes.

0
Comment actions Permalink

I know this isn't speaking to your problem and it isn't a direct answer for it, but I feel it's worth mentioning - I think you folks should really consider getting version control.  What you're describing is like creating a whole layer on top of the remote deployment solution for what version control systems were exactly intended for.  And since pretty much all VCS solutions worth a darn are available for free, it really behooves you to consider setting one up.  You can get an SVN or Git repository setup literally in 30 seconds on almost any machine.

I'm not trying to be unhelpful or anything, I just wanted to say it :)   If you're working for a small team that's growing it can make your lives unbelievably easier.

0
Comment actions Permalink

It makes sense. We use Git too for some projects, mostly for libraries and wordpress plugins. But for our web projects, we do not need/want to go throught the merging hasle ...

Where I disagree is when you say that what I am describing "is like creating a whole layer on top of the remote deployment solution". As PHPStorm can check for file changes and notify on save, I wanted to know if it can react the same way also when opening or focusing a file. That simple, Eclipse does it and it is all we need ...

0
Comment actions Permalink

That's fair.  I didn't meant to imply your request was invalid or anything, was just bringing up VCS's in case it wasn't something that had been considered, but it sounds like you have done.

0
Comment actions Permalink

If that did not helped, then I guess this is the right ticket: http://youtrack.jetbrains.com/issue/WI-1284

0
Comment actions Permalink

The only solution we could find to know whether the file has changed before editing it is to re-open the file which with the right settings, will detect changes on the remote server and then show a notification with an option to download. We could not find how to do this when focusing on the document.

The only solution we could find to know if changes have been made since editing the file is to detect the changes whilst saving the file and then select changes to be merged before uploading.

You can do this by selecting the following settings...

Settings (or Default Settings for new projects)  | Deployment | Options 

Upload changed files automatically to the default server => 'On explicit save action (Ctrl+S)'

Warn when uploading over newer file: => 'Compare timestamp & size'

Notify of remote changes => 'Checked'

This is the only solution we could find without having to use VCS.

0

Please sign in to leave a comment.