Run configurations coming back with workspace restoration

My run configurations keep getting restored by workspace restorations triggered by git branch changes.

After creating new branches a bunch of them require me to repeatedly click "Save <run config> configuration". If I delete these run configurations, they come back after a workspace switch.

I can probably edit `workspace.xml` and remove them permanently, but some of them are needed, is there also a place where the mapping of workspace to run configuration is saved? I have browsed through workspace.xml and can find the run configurations themselves, but not the workspace/runconfig mappings.

3 comments
Comment actions Permalink

You can enable "Store as project file" in run configuration settings. Then you can add them to .gitignore if you don't want them to be touched by VCS.

0
Comment actions Permalink

It's not so much that I want them as files, I want them to go away permanently, but I am unable to do this.

Removing them from within PyCharm or manual modification of `workspace.xml` has the same effect: The configurations are removed until I trigger a workspace restoration by changing git branch. They are then restored into `workspace.xml` again.

Where is the configuration stored for workspace data between git branches, and can it be edited to remove these configurations, or would I have to fully remove the files?

0
Comment actions Permalink

Sorry, I don't fully understand the question. If run configurations exist in a specific version of workspace.xml from a specific branch, the solution is to:

1. Switch to this branch.

2. Modify the configs (remove what you don't need from workspace.xml)

3. Commit

Or am I missing something?

0

Please sign in to leave a comment.