After upgrading my IntelliJ IDEA Ultimate install to 14.1.3, I noticed a rather unfriendly change to how Git merge works. In older versions of IDEA, if Git merge detected merge conflicts, it would automatically display the resolve conflicts window which allowed me to easily work throught all of the conflicts. In the latest update, this is no longer the case. Instead, IDEA displays a pop up balloon near the top right which indicates that there are merge conflicts. I must now manually start resolve conflicts.
Why was this change made? And can we have a setting somewhere to control this because I prefer the old way it worked.